South Korea in a glance (4)

Day 4: Coffee Prince Cafe – N Seoul Tower 

Truthfully, when it comes to day 4, I didn’t have a fixed schedule. I was thinking to visit Bamboo forest in Damyang, but then I didn’t make it as I woke up very late! Probably, because I was too tired–or, me get aged!

Therefore, on my 4th day in Seoul, I just decided to relax and stroll around Hongdae, and then meet one of my Indonesian friends (who is currently studying in Seoul) in the afternoon.

Anyway, if you have a very flexible schedule and some days to be spent in South Korea, then I would recommend the Bamboo forest in Damyang. It would give you a different experience compared to what Seoul city has to offer. It might take ~3 hours from Seoul by train, and then continued by bus for another 30-40 minutes. The one way train ticket (Yongsan station – Gwangju station) is quite pricey, which is around 50,000KRW. For further direction, you may search the reviews on the internet, there should be many.

Okay, back to my Seoul itinerary on day 4!

As you are the Kdrama fans, then you might be familiar with the Kdrama “Coffee Prince”. Honestly, I haven’t watched it, yet. Just because my friend asked me to take any photos inside the café (which was originally used as the filming location of the drama), then I was thinking “okay, why not? As I am already here, in Seoul!”

But then, my search for the “Coffee Prince” café caused a real drama in reality.

First, I get lost for almost 1.5 hours, due to the low resolution map that I copied from a blogger out there.

Second, the café was closed! YES, PEOPLE! IT WAS CLOSEDDDD!!

I was like: “are you kiddinggggg????”
I didn’t know that on Monday, the café is closed.
Really, how could be a café/restaurant close on Monday? It’s little bit unusual. If it’s a museum/tourist attraction, then I might understand.
But, anyway, despite all my useless efforts, if you still want to give a try (because, I also read from many reviews out there, they say that the menu is quite pricey), hereby I uploaded the Coffee Prince map with good resolution and clear pointer to reach the café.

hong

Later, with some energy left, I just strolled around Hongdae (Hongik University). Of which, it is really nice to feel the academic atmosphere there. I also spotted quite many foreigner students. Reminds me a lot to Wageningen University.

Seoul18

Next, is the Namsan Tower part! One of the iconic attractions in Seoul City.

Namsan Tower is a communication and observation tower located on Namsan Mountain in central Seoul, South Korea. At 236m, it marks the highest point in Seoul. Built in 1971, the N Seoul Tower is Korea’s first general radio wave tower, providing TV and radio broadcasting in Seoul. Currently, the tower broadcast signals for Korean media outlets, such as KBS, MBC and SBS (Wikipedia).

To go there, please click this link, then you’ll find some options which might suit you best! Also, you can check the ticket fare to enter the observatory floor. Trust me, you might not be disappointed! As you might see the Seoul City from ~200 m of heights. Plus, it has 360 degrees view!

Seoul19
A look of Namsan Tower in a fine afternoon winter 

Seoul21
Seoul city, a view from ~200m of heights!

Seoul20
Another picturesque moment in the Namsan Tower’s yard

 

Leave a Reply

