Recipe: Green Tea Choco Brownie

It probably stays naturally in my blood, of which I can’t stand to such a routine daily life all the time.
Even though doing the research in the lab is still my passion and my top priority, but I will constraint myself only from Monday to Friday.
And for the weekend, I will let myself be occupied by a totally different activity; which is including learning a new hobby!

After painting and playing guitar, lately I am obsessed with baking!
I am in love with the idea that in the process of making the cake, you prepare it precisely and wholeheartedly.
After following some accurate steps, then you finally produce a delicious cake, of which make other people happy because you share it.
I can’t really wait that someday I would have a chance to prepare it for my husband -or even better- for my kids!
For sure, I will make it more elevated than the one I have written down here.

Even so, here a recipe that has been tested in my kitchen (with some modifications).
As I worship the flavour of green tea, then there would not be any sin to include it in brownie recipe!

Green Tea Choco Brownie

Green Tea Cream Cheese Batter:
• 1 package of Cream Cheese (200 gr), softened to room temperature
• 1/3 cup confectioners’ sugar
• 5 tablespoons all-purpose Flour
• 1 large egg, room temperature
• 5 tablespoons heavy cream (35% fat)
• 2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
• 2 teaspoons Green Tea powder (Matcha)
• 1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder

Choco Brownie Batter:
•120gr Dark Chocolate (at least 60%)
•1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted Butter
•1/2 cup Sugar
•2 large Eggs
•1/3 cup all-purpose Flour
•1/4 cup Chocolate Powder
•1 teaspoon Baking Powder
•1/4 teaspoon Salt

Instructions
1. Preheat the oven to 350oF/180oC. Grease an 8 x 8 square pan or line with parchment paper.

2. Using a mixer beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth (no more lumps appear). Be patient with this, it may take 4-5 min at medium-high speed. Beat in the egg. Add the heavy cream and vanilla extract. Sift the green tea, flour and baking powder into the batter and mix until combined. Set aside.

3. Melt the chocolate and butter in a pan over very low heat. Stir to combine; remove from the heat. Cool for 1 minute. In a bowl, mix the chocolate with the sugar and eggs. Stir in the flour and salt until combined.

4. Alternately spoon the brownie batter and the green tea batter in the prepared pan. It should look like a chess board or checker board with alternating colours. Don’t worry if they overlap as long as both batters are spread out evenly. Alternatively, spoon the brownie batter into the pan and simply spread the green tea batter on top. Using a butter knife, gently make a swirling pattern to create a marbled effect. Don’t swirl too much so the two batters don’t totally blend.

5.Bake in the oven for 40-45 minutes or until it springs back slightly when touched. Cool completely in the pan before cutting into squares. Enjoy!

Yield: 16 Squares
Prep Time: 15 Minutes
Cooking Time: 40 Minutes
Total Time: 55 Minutes

And here is the example!
Pretty isn’t it?

green tea choco brownie

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

